MiniTorque.com banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

New to the forum. I have a r53 2003 mini cooper s. Took off valve cover to change the gasket and thought i would check the timing chain while i have it open. On the top sprocket the chain is way off and not matching where it is meant to be. If i open and replace the chain and sprockets with the guide would I be ok or am I supposed to be looking to do anything else? Any further potential damage i should look out for?

I think its best to tell everyone I'm a novice and a new diy hobbyist and not the best of mechanics.

·
Premium Member
5,228 Posts
so how have you determined anything is out?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I saw the single arrow on the top of the sprocket and I think it should be lined up with a dark piece of the chain. However thats not the case for me.

Plus there was a knocking noise from the engine so was going to change the tensioner.

·
Premium Member
2,262 Posts
Turn it over by hand and after a few rotations itll likely line up.
If not, and it runs, it will be equally far off on the crank so its fine.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
so since i havent pulled off the crank pulley if i just rotate that it should hopefully all line up? Sorry if thats a silly question but i have little idea what im doing.

thanks for all the help

·
Premium Member
2,262 Posts
Take the spark plugs out to make life a bit easier.
If its running fine put the cover back on and leave as is.
If it has a chain rattle change the tensioner and see how it goes.

·
Premium Member
5,228 Posts