·
That's you, that is.
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi Zute,
I work for a company that has a Castrol dept, and i often hear them telling customers that modern cars have standard oil from the factory, 1st service 12months later, and that running in oil is no longer really used. They suggest using a correct grade cheap oil for that 500 miles and then change for the oil you want?
Sounds plausible, but i'm no expert

·
Premium Member
9,971 Posts
I s use Lucas assembly lube on bearing surfaces. I've not used break in oil for a couple of reasons. Its wickedly expensive for what it is, and probably more relevant is that a a mini never needed it when new. I think the concept is a relic from the days of dinosaur juice

·
Premium Member
248 Posts
Have a look at opieoils

J

·
Premium Member
4,149 Posts
if looking for cheap, the 'only' semi synth 5/30 (option grade) that mentions BMW at all is £12.95 the closest you're possibly going to get to a 'sort of' specified oil for the short term at a price, although somewhere lower in the quality spectrum perhaps but free post, yay, haha.

or use Millers perhaps, 1320 run them in on the rollers, some load, mixed rpm, up and down the box etc. On the road at first I wouldn't run over 4 for the initial run through the gears at mixed loads etc but after a recheck of stuff I'd run it at similar loads and would be happy to let it spin up a bit freely with that oil. Or just use a flushing oil of your choice, initial run for 1/2hr, lighter loads through the gears never labouring it, still keep it spinning a bit, maybe again briefly after a cool down and check, and then just go to your preferred oil. Running in practices will differ, you need some on/off moderate load to get pressure behind the rings just not too much for too long that's all, bearings or rings can handle spinning up just at lighter loads, definitely not laboured, maybe run it for a short period, let it cool and run it again.

·
That's you, that is.