MiniTorque.com banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for advice and experience about fitting a rear cage on my r56. Do I need to strip the headlining or can it be fitted with the removal of rear panels etc?

Who has one and what make is it, costs involved?

Thanks.

Geoff.

·
Premium Member
2006 R53
10,415 Posts
I've got no experience of fitting to a second gen, but first gen can be fitted with the headliner in place, you just have to remove the interior light and replace it when you're done. Panel cuts/removal depends upon cage brand. I've got a safety devices one in mine and I had to remove some fairly significant chunks. Piece of piss though

·
Resident Gobshite
4,145 Posts
It’ll go in but will rub on those silly mood lights on the pillars. And you’ll need to cut out the rear like mine was.

·
Resident Gobshite
4,145 Posts
nice seats.
They were ?. Cobra Nogaros. Shoulda taken them out when I sold the old girl. Along with just about everything else ?.
Also. I had a Safety Devices Rear Half Cage with the optional brackets to take a front loop at a later date.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It’ll go in but will rub on those silly mood lights on the pillars. And you’ll need to cut out the rear like mine was. View attachment 98807
Nice one. Is this the safety devices cage? If so where did you purchase yours from?

I'm pretty handy with the tools and my dads historically built his own Super saloon racecar many moons ago so looking to fit this myself. Aside from the cut outs for the rear feet anything worth noting difficulty wise?

Lohen are doing the rear cage for around £590 iirc.

Cheers. Those Nagaros are sick BTW!

·
Resident Gobshite
4,145 Posts
I bought the cage from Lohen a few years back. Only thing really is to weld in the plates that the cage bolts to.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
You need to be able to weld.