MiniTorque.com banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've accidently bought a 2005 Cooper S, while "browsing" fleabay. Oops. Now to tell the Mrs.

I've never owned a mini before, but over new year decided i'd like to do a handful of track days. Cost of hiring cars seemed pricey so I did a little research on reasonably priced trackday cars for complete novices. Here we are one week later, and I've accidently bought a 2006 Cooper S for £2K. That submit button on ebay is just too tempting.

It's the Chilli Pack with the LSD. Had the clutch replaced last year. It has done 126,000, but seems to have been looked after more than some of the lower mileage ones that were listed for more, I had seen one with 83,000 miles but it was £2200 and needed a new cltutch (so £2800 all in), so I've plumped for higher mileage but new clutch.

I've previously had a BMW 435d which I loved, but it had to move on due to the arrival of a new baby, and the need for something "sensible" that fits the dog and the baby. My commute involves a walk through a park, so this will see the occasional B road session, along with the occasional track day.

Picking it up at the weekend hopefully, and got my eye on the Novice day at Blyton Park on 9th March. My plans for the car are divided into two pathways.....

Plan A
Panic, apologise to the Mrs and immediately relist the car on ebay in the hope of recouping the most of the spend

Plan B
Drive it pretty much stock on 9th March then upgrade items one by one before before each track day to see the improvement. I'm very much a safety and sensible upgrades before power, as I want to improve my track day skills before worrying about power. With that in mind its likely to be stopping power and track safety before engine tweeks.
Upgrades in mind.
1. Engine service, filter,
2. Suspension bushes, engine and gearbox mount bushes (?PSB)
3. R56 brake upgrade