MiniTorque.com banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Having bought my R53 'S' (finally), fitted my new 17" Rota Grids and tyres I am looking where to go next.

Basically I intend to have a fast road / track day car build which will span my pay packets over the next few months.

I am no stranger to form > function with my last car being around 15mm off the floor. BUT this time its all about the performance. I intend to build the car properly and will be buying once and once only on each part.

I am new to the engine tuning world and my mechanical skills so far extend to assembling brakes and calipers, fitting coilovers and fitting exhausts. I will require masses of help along the way but I am sure you will all be here to lend a hand and take the piss when things go wrong.

Where should I start?
Do I stick with what I know to start with and use the car efficeiently to start with, a decent set of adjustable coilovers and brakes for example?
Which parts do I then start with, do I start with Exhaust, Induction, Intercooler, Remap in this order?

Your help is much appreciated and I look forward ot seeing you all around the forum and at various events in the future. :thumbup:

·
argumentum vel STFU
3,898 Posts
Corners - Plenty of coilovers to choose from, depending on what you're after and the size of your wallet. Get it set up properly.

Brakes - R56S front calipers and discs with Carbotech pads of your choice.

Power - 15-17% supercharger pulley, Dave.F induction, GP Intercooler should see you making some power to start with. For more, how big's your wallet? :)

It's up to you where you start.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A Supercharger doesn't change what I have already learnt then. To start with I should look at my handling and stopping. I mean I have fitted Toyo T1Rs for my road use at the moment and to be honest they are performing better than I thought they would so i can look at Coilovers next.