MiniTorque.com banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Peeps

Hope you are all safe and sound in these uncertain times....

During this Lockdown and the majority of this year I'm Looking to build a new R53 Turbo project motor between 350 whp & 400 whp

Im starting from the bottom and I'm no mechanic and have limited knowledge but have started researching on the internet to pass the time from my nagging Mrs &

screaming Kids, life's tough at the moment with this lockdown so i need a release...

I live in Guernsey in the Channel islands and we have limited resources over here so need to source everything on line..

Ive had mixed comments on this question and also mixed costs for a complete bottom end build.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated

So The question is do i Forged or Forged & Line the bottom end?

Whats the best Turbo to give me 350whp on low boost to 400 whp full boost ( Or even if this is possible)

Thanks in advance 馃榾

The Black Pig

Registered
The bottom ends on these are really strong however. I鈥檝e heard of a few in the last couple of years where the cylinder wall has rusted away causing it to crack under boost...most likely from lack of coolant changes etc so really you need to weigh up the cost of having it lined Vs how long are you going to keep the car and do you want it to handle everything that鈥檚 thrown at it?

1320 can build a whole forged and lined bottom end for about 拢3800 I think with Wiseco pistons and 1320 Con Rods/LA liners. That鈥檚 with new everything such as bearings and ARP bolts etc. Have you spoken to them at all?

I鈥檓 sure there are also other options for engine builds, have you looked at speaking to Ric Wood or something like that? I know he normally does Ford stuff but he does make some fucking brilliant cylinder heads for these cars and is an all round top bloke.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi