For anyone into gaming PC's/Laptops
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: For anyone into gaming PC's/Laptops

  1. #1
    MCS Fanatic BestyCooperS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Runcorn
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    For anyone into gaming PC's/Laptops

    Just ordered an Alienware M14x with a few nice extras from the website

    Spec as follows

    Alienware M14x
    Memory
    8192MB (2x4GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Dual Channel
    Video Card
    2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 650M
    Hard Drive
    500GB 7,200rpm SATA 6Gb/s HDD
    Operating System
    English Windows® 7 Home Premium (64 BIT)
    Optical Devices
    DVD+/-RW (DVD, CD read and write)
    Sound
    Creative Sound Blaster Recon3Di with THX TruStudio Pro Software
    Wireless Networking
    Killer Wireless-N 1202 a/g/n 2x2 MIMO for Gaming & Video and Bluetooth 4.0
    Bundle
    N08W4M01
    Primary Battery
    Primary 8-cell 63W/HR LI-ION
    Processor
    Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM (6MB Cache, up to 3.3GHz w/ Turbo Boost 2.0)
    Camera
    Integrated Skype HD Certified FullHD Camera with dual digital microphones
    Color Choice
    Alienware M14x Cosmic Black
    Avatar
    Alienhead 3D
    AlienFx Colour
    Mars Red
    OS Customization
    Alienware 3D Wallpaper
    Pre Installed Software
    Steam® Factory Installed and Steam Extra Content
    LCD
    14.1" WideHD+ (1600x900) WLED with TrueLife
    Additional Software
    Alienware M14x Resource DVD
    Power Supply
    MOD,ADPT,AC,DLTA,150W,3P,WW

    Anyone got a gaming setup? post your specs

    Besty

  2. # ADS
    MiniTorque Ads

    Join Date
    The Beginning
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    MT 1000 Club ging's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    1,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    cancel it and add a hybrid hard drive
    that much hardware is wasted without an ssd storage

  4. #3
    Werthers George Talbot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6,596
    Post Thanks / Like
    Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 @ 3.50GHz 38 °C
    Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
    RAM
    16.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-11-28)
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z68XP-UD4 (Socket 1155) 42 °C
    Graphics
    Panasonic-TV ([email protected])
    HP L1940 ([email protected])
    1535MB GeForce GTX 480 (nVidia) 75 °C
    Hard Drives
    117GB Corsair Force 3 SSD ATA Device (SATA-SSD) 30 °C
    488GB FUJITSU MAXTOR STM3500630AS ATA Device (SATA) 46 °C

    Copied straight from speccy.

    Runs pretty nicely....

  5. Remove Advertisements
    MiniTorque.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    MCS Fanatic BestyCooperS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Runcorn
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ging View Post
    cancel it and add a hybrid hard drive
    that much hardware is wasted without an ssd storage
    Can I add one in at a later date?

  7. #5
    MT 1000 Club ging's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    1,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    yeah i think you can
    had a look, the ssd + hdd option isn't a hybrid drive like i thought it's a separate mSATA mini SSD, so retro fitting shouldn't be a problem

  8. #6
    MCS Fanatic BestyCooperS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Runcorn
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ging View Post
    yeah i think you can
    had a look, the ssd + hdd option isn't a hybrid drive like i thought it's a separate mSATA mini SSD, so retro fitting shouldn't be a problem
    Sweet thanks mate will look into this when it arrives then, does it make a massive difference?

  9. #7
    MT 1000 Club ging's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    1,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    watch some videos on youtube of SSD vs HDD
    they make things load so much quicker
    a SSD cache isn't quite as good as a full SSD hard drive, but a large capacity SSD costs stupid money, the cache will learn what files you need to access most regularly and copy them to the cache

  10. #8
    Werthers George Talbot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6,596
    Post Thanks / Like
    Geek Porn!


  11. #9
    MT Plus Member dirchy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've got an M14x as my works machine, maybe a bigger Hdd I think, but a good quick machine with a nice display. Don't use it for gaming obviously. I have got a couple of 24"LCDs when in the office, which gives lots of useful desktop real estate when remoting onto a lot of stuff simultaneously

    Expensive bit of kit though!!!

  12. #10
    Potential Post Whore sum1quiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    346
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ging View Post
    watch some videos on youtube of SSD vs HDD
    they make things load so much quicker
    a SSD cache isn't quite as good as a full SSD hard drive, but a large capacity SSD costs stupid money, the cache will learn what files you need to access most regularly and copy them to the cache
    Actually, the price of SSDs have tumbled in the last 6-12 months.

    This for example is not far off maxing the bus for read rates, and the price is very competitive. 256GB is plenty for the OS and a load of games.

    Also lol at them defragging an SSD, that's plain retarded.
    Last edited by sum1quiet; 20/08/12 at 18:45.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •