Scanguage 2 no longer connects to R53, but works fine in R55, any idea?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scanguage 2 no longer connects to R53, but works fine in R55, any idea?

  1. #1
    MT Plus Member tweedbean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Balsall Common
    Posts
    4,100
    Post Thanks / Like

    Scangauge 2 no longer connects to R53, but works fine in R55, any idea?

    Hi all, I'm after some help. My scangauge 2 has been connected to my R53 for the last 2 years with no issue. Then suddenly a few weeks ago its stopped working, it would just hang on the Connecting screen then switch off eventually.

    Untitled by James Baker, on Flickr

    So I tried disconnecting it then reconnecting and nothing would make it work. I plugged it into the R55 and it works fine. I tried plugging my ultragauge into the R53 just incase the OBD port was faulty but that works fine in the R53, proving there must be an issue with the scangauge suddenly not wanting to connect to the R53. Any thoughts on how to resolve this?
    Last edited by tweedbean; 31/07/19 at 22:10.

  2. # ADS
    MiniTorque Ads

    Join Date
    The Beginning
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    MT Plus Member tweedbean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Balsall Common
    Posts
    4,100
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorted thanks to Scangauge who got back to me in minutes

    If you press MORE then SETUP then top right button to ADV SETTINGS then top right until you find PIDS then using the middle right or bottom left button press until it says SUPPORTED

  4. #3
    MT Plus Member Astroboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sunderland
    Posts
    9,736
    Post Thanks / Like
    This is probably worth a sticky if thats still a thing

  5. Remove Advertisements
    MiniTorque.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    MT Virgin
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk, England
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    My R53 is pre ODB2. So I am buggered.

  7. #5
    MT Plus Member Astroboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sunderland
    Posts
    9,736
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by NigelStap View Post
    My R53 is pre ODB2. So I am buggered.
    I thought obd2 came in in 2001, are you sure?

  8. #6
    MT Plus Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like
    I thought these were for R56 F56 according to this https://orranje.co.uk/shop-by-brand/...ol-multi-gauge

  9. #7
    MT Plus Member Astroboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sunderland
    Posts
    9,736
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by shiftspark View Post
    I thought these were for R56 F56 according to this https://orranje.co.uk/shop-by-brand/...ol-multi-gauge
    Ah I see. Your car is definitely OBDII but these particular ones are second and third gen specific. A standard scangauge II will read all of the available data from the R53's OBD port, but then again something like an Ultragauge is in my opinion better looking and quite a bit cheaper. If cost is a consideration then any generic OBDII gauge will display the same info

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •